To prevent stories about information that you edit on your profile (e.g., your work information or relationship status) from appearing on your Wall by following these steps, first go to the Privacy Settings page from the Account drop-down menu.
- To change the settings for information that falls under the "Work and Education" or "Likes and Interests" section of your profile, follow the "View settings" link in the "Basic Directory Information" section.
- To change the settings for information that falls under the "About Me" section on your profile (e.g., Relationship Status or Family), follow the "Customize settings" link in the "Sharing on Facebook" section.
If you want to remove a particular Wall story, simply click the "Remove" button that appears to the right of the story after you move your mouse over it. Removing the Wall story does not prevent a News Feed story from being generated.
Remember, other users can only see Wall stories about these actions if they have permission to see them elsewhere on the site. For example, if you create a secret event that they are not invited to, they will not see a story about it. If someone is viewing your profile and they are not allowed to see your photo albums, they will not see any Wall stories about you adding photos.